It has taken me a long time to realize my very abusive sister who liked to throw the words “think positive” a lot.Was and is actually a very negative person.
Its not negative to feel your emotions.
I was not a negative child.I was a suffering child due to their abuse and neglect.How was a child to be happy in that environment.
Emotions are not thoughts.They are a biological reaction to our environment.

My sister is NOT a positive person.She is actually a very negative person that doesn’t understand that repression is NOT being positive.

What my whole family terms “positive thinking” is akin to see someone drowning and think that because you’re a positive thinker and do not like “negative things” you turn to look at the sky and let the person drown.Denial of reality and cruel.What could be more negative?
This is a good article about repression.

http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2080858/

 

